搜索

Century-Old Preserved Fruit Company Seeks Innovation and Transformation, Turning Traditional Preserved Fruit into Trendy Snacks
2021-06-18


        The sweet and sour taste of preserved fruit brings back childhood memories. The confection of preserved fruit has been inscribed on the Inventory of Intangible Cultural Heritage of Macao in 2020, so that the traditional workmanship of making preserved fruit can be better preserved.

 

        Tong Iec Pak Fa Fui Cheong Un Company Limited, one of the time-honoured brands in Macao, specialises in the production of preserved fruit, seasoning and sauces. The company was originally founded in 1903 in Xinhui, Jiangmen, Guangdong province. At that time, many merchant ships would pass through the port of Macao and the company saw the business opportunities and relocated its business to the city in 1918, and therefore the traditional methods of making preserved fruit and brewing soy sauce were also brought to Macao. In the city, there are not many companies with a history spanning more than 100 years, not to mention how hard it is to maintain the same flavour for a century and become a leader in the preserved fruit industry. In 2013, Loi Wai Man, the fourth-generation owner of the company, took over the baton and embarked on a new journey of tradition and innovation.


2.jpg

Brand new packaging 

(Photo provided by the company)


4.jpg

Loi Wai Man, the fourth-generation owner of the company


Following ancestral secret recipes for the same taste

        “Tong Iec” means “benefit for all”, and “Pak Fa Fui” means “the top amongst a wide variety of preserved fruit”. Today, Tong Iec Pak Fa Fui still uses the secret recipes handed down by the founder, using natural high-quality ingredients to maintain the quality and traditional taste. With such persistence, their preserved apricots, preserved ginger, dried Chinese mangoes and sweetened vinegar products have become the four signature products of Tong Iec Pak Fa Fui, attracting tourists from as close as Mainland China and Hong Kong, and as far as Southeast Asia, Europe and the United States.

 

        According to the Journey to the West, the immortal peach trees that belong to the Lady Queen Mother take 3,000 years to blossom and another 3,000 years to bear fruit; eat one and you can live forever. Tong Iec Pak Fa Fui’s preserved apricot is made from apricots but is named as “Immortal Peach” in Chinese due to its connotation with health and longevity. To keep the traditional taste, the alpine apricots that grow between 700 metres and 1,300 metres above sea level are selected to allow customers to enjoy the natural and pure flavours. “An old gentleman in his 80s tasted our preserved apricots and said that the taste was exactly the same as the one he tasted when he was a child. This is the greatest affirmation we could receive for our products”, said Loi with a satisfied smile when talking about the company’s signature “Immortal Peach”.

 

        Many residents from different neighbourhoods go  to the shops specially to buy the sweetened vinegar product in bulk, in addition to a variety of signature preserved fruit. “Families in Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao generally follow the custom of making pork knuckle and ginger stew, and share them with relatives and friends after babies are born. Most of the older generations think that pork knuckle and ginger stew has the most authentic taste only when it is stewed with Tong Iec’s sweetened vinegar.” Loi also mentioned that the taste of sweetened vinegar can be adjusted instantly in the shops upon customers’ requests, and the company has built a reputation with such attentive services.


WeChat 圖片_20210527194318.jpg

Traditional method of  making preserved fruit 

(Photo provided by the company)


3.jpg

Selection of high-quality raw materials 

(Photo provided by the company)


Old brand on the path of transformation

        There is a saying in Chinese that “running water is never stale and door-hinges in use never become worm-eaten”, which means “constant practice always keeps one fit”. Likewise, a brand also needs timely transformation to achieve a more stable and long-term development in the market. However, Loi said frankly that changing the old way of working is much more difficult than he thought. The company has gradually embarked on the path of transformation: from teaching experienced senior employees to use computers instead of writing invoices and receipts by hand, to later strengthening employees’ face-to-face communication skills after establishing shops and entering the retail market; and recently, they have successfully upgraded the old packaging that had been used for a century in order to get closer to the tastes of young consumers. Loi thinks that overcoming the hindrances and obstacles along the path is way more different than starting a business.


        “Each and every hardship will be overcome eventually.” Now, the senior employees of the company are already familiar with the use of computers to keep accounts; customers like to visit the stores to learn about the brand and explore their shops; many young consumers are attracted by the new packaging and would like to give the products a try, all of these suggest that the reorganisation has achieved favourable results. However, Loi does not intend to stop now. In the future, he plans integrate the old and new, starting from applying the modern concept of health to the formula and manufacturing and combining traditional techniques with modern technology.


210527194259.jpg

Factory located in Xinhui, Guangdong

 (Photo provided by the company)


IPIM’s business matching successfully forges co-operation and expands sales

        Constantly challenging oneself and keeping pace with market trends are also important factors for the success of an enterprise. In 2020, Tong Iec Pak Fa Fui began to promote its products online through “influencer marketing” and cross-border e-commerce platforms. In addition, the products have also been included in Macao Ideas of the Macao Trade and Investment Promotion Institute (IPIM). Thanks to the online and offline product display platforms, the company sometimes receives customer enquiries through the platforms. The platforms not only help attract customers, but also make the company more confident in making the brand more internationally accepted.

 

        Furthermore, through the business matching service provided by IPIM’s Macao Ideas, Tong Iec Pak Fa Fui successfully forged co-operation with a local supermarket chain, which has  shops in several shopping centres in resort hotels in Cotai. The chain currently sells the full-line of Tong Iec Pak Fa Fui’s products and at busy times has to restock at least several times a month. Loi thinks that it is quite rare for a Macao SME brand to achieve such sales in shopping centres that house many high-end international brands.

 

        Loi shared that “I hope I live up to the mission of inheriting Tong Iec Pak Fa Fui’s century-old golden lacquer signboard. In the future, we will take our products to the whole world, promote the core value of the brand, and take the Macao Brand much further.”


10601102426.jpg

Entire line of products available in shopping centres in Cotai


7.JPG

A store located in Fai Chi Kei, Macao


Contact Tong Iec Pak Fa Fui 


If you are interested in discussing co-operation with the above-mentioned company, please contact the staff of “Macao Ideas” during office hours.

Tel.: 

Ms Cheang +853 8798 9707

Ms Chong +853 8798 9739

Email: 

fionacheang@ipim.gov.mo 

elizachong@ipim.gov.mo

搜索

百年涼果世家革新轉型 “潮”食傳統涼果
2021-06-18

        每當提起涼果酸甜的味道,就不禁讓人聯想到兒時的童趣回憶。而涼果製作技藝更已於2020年被列入非物質文化遺產清單,使這種傳統手工涼果技藝得以更好地傳承及保存。


        同益百花魁醬園有限公司就是其中一間專門出品涼果和醬料的澳門老字號,其企業本來於1903年在廣東江門新會創立,當時由於澳門港口商船來往眾多,商機處處,於是在1918年遷至澳門,並把古法釀製涼果及醬油的工藝同時帶到澳門。在澳門,擁有上百年歷史的企業並不多,更何況要做到風味百年不變,登上涼果行業中的佼佼者實在不易。2013年,企業第四代傳人呂偉文接過接力棒,便踏上了傳承和創新的新征程。


2.jpg

全新包裝

(圖片由企業提供)


4.jpg

第四代接班人呂偉文


祖傳古法秘方 歲月味道始終如一

        “同益”意為“大家得益”,“百花魁”意為“百花涼果之首”。如今,同益百花魁始終沿用創始人傳下來的秘方,選用天然優質材料,保持品質和古法味道。在這種堅持下,蟠桃果、精神薑、香芒果和添丁甜醋,成了同益百花魁四大招牌,更招徠近至中國內地、香港,遠至東南亞地區乃至歐美等地旅客。

 

        相傳《西遊記》的王母蟠桃果子需要三千年開花,三千年結果,吃了更能長生不老。而同益百花魁的蟠桃果,是以杏肉製成,取名“蟠桃果”,寓意健康長壽。為秉承對傳統味道的堅持,現時選用生長於海拔700米至1,300米的高山杏,就是為了讓客人吃上天然無污染的美味。 “有位80多歲的老先生品嚐過我們的蟠桃果後,說和他小時候吃的味道一模一樣,這是對我們產品最大的肯定。”談及自家招牌的蟠桃果,呂偉文露出滿意的笑容。

 

        除了招牌的各式涼果,不少街坊特意到店購買散裝添丁甜醋。“粵港澳地區家庭普遍在新生兒誕生後,有煲豬腳薑分贈親鄰好友的習俗。老一輩大多認為用同益的甜醋煲出來的豬腳薑才是最正宗。”呂偉文更表示即場能按客戶要求調整甜醋比例,貼心的服務累積口碑。


WeChat 圖片_20210527194318.jpg

古法涼果工藝

(圖片由企業提供)


3.jpg

選取優質原材料

(圖片由企業提供)


老字號的變革之路

        “流水不腐,戶樞不蠹。”品牌也需要適時轉型才能在市場上走得更穩更長遠。然而,呂偉文坦言老店實行改革,難度比當初想像的要大得多。由資深的老員工學習使用電腦取代人手開單,到後來自設門市進入零售市場,加強與客戶面對面的交流;再到近來成功把沿用百年的舊包裝升級改造,以更貼近年輕消費族群的口味,逐步踏上變革之路。呂偉文認為要解決沿路上的阻力及障礙,相比創業更加困難。

 

        “關關難過關關過。”現在,企業的老員工使用電腦記帳已駕輕就熟;客戶喜愛親臨門店認識品牌及尋找故事;不少年輕消費者被新包裝吸引而嘗鮮,足見改革取得不俗成果。但呂偉文並不打算就此停下腳步,未來他計劃從配方及製造階段著手,加入現代健康理念,將傳統工藝結合現代科技,實現新舊融合。



210527194259.jpg

位於廣東新會的廠房

(圖片由企業提供)


貿促局商業配對 成功對接拓銷路

        不斷挑戰自我,配合市場發展潮流趨勢,也是企業成功的其中一個重要因素。同益百花魁於2020年開始透過“網紅直播帶貨”及跨境電商平台等方式宣傳產品。除此之外,產品同時進駐了澳門貿易投資促進局(下稱“貿促局”)的商匯館,透過平台線上線下的展示方式,企業不時會收到由平台引流的客戶查詢,不但藉此吸納客源,也使企業對品牌走向國際更有信心。

 

        不僅如此,同益百花魁透過貿促局商匯館的商業配對服務,成功對接澳門連鎖超市,該超市在路氹城的多家渡假村購物中心均設有門店,目前銷售同益百花魁的全線產品,高峰時曾每月多次補貨,呂偉文認為作為澳門中小企業品牌,在高端國際品牌眾多如雲的商場中取得如此的銷量可說是相當難得。

 

        呂偉文寄語道:“我希望不負傳承同益百花魁百年金漆招牌的使命,未來要把我們的產品帶到全世界,弘揚品牌的核心價值,使‘澳門品牌’走得更遠。”


10601102426.jpg

全線產品可在路氹城購物中心購買


7.JPG

位於澳門筷子基的門店


聯絡同益百花魁


如有意與上述企業洽談合作,請於辦公時間內與“商匯館”人員聯絡。
電話: 鄭小姐 +853 8798 9707 / 庄小姐+853 8798 9739
電郵: fionacheang@ipim.gov.mo / elizachong@ipim.gov.mo